Admitted to the EMU

I know Ive been posting a lot since I made this blog, but so much has happened. I made this so that Lucas and I can remember who he was and what he did in his past. Unfortunately it also includes the bad. My last post earlier today talked about how Lucas had a seizure today and hit his head really bad. He had a MRI and they ruled everything out and we were discharged. Typical day in the hospital with Lucas. However, usually when we are sent home, we don’t come back the same day. Lucas had been sleeping ever since we came home today and all of a sudden I hear this noise and Im just like, “what in the world is that noise?” Its Lucas’ bed monitor going off. Lucas was having a seizure. It was a full-on Grand Mal seizure (he never has those). I put him on the floor, moved everything away, and waited to see if it went away. It did. I get Lucas some water, put him back in his crib, and less than an hour later, he’s having another full-on Grand Mal. I knew something wasn’t right in this picture so again, I waited. This time his seizure never stopped.

Status Epilepticus. For those who don’t know, Status Epilepticus is a seizure that doesnt stop. I called an ambulance and they came, injected Luka with anticonvulsants and phenobarbitol and all that and after a good hour of seizing, he was okay. Groggy, uncomfortable, upset, but okay. Just to make sure he doesnt have any damage or underlying problem, we’ve been admitted to the Epilepsy Monitoring Unit. Somewhere I am very familiar with as I am in this place quite often for my epilepsy too.

I know Ive experienced Luka with seizures before, but there is something that just puts me off in my mind when I see my own 2 years of flesh and blood seizing. Unconscious. Lying there helpless. Its sickening to me. Unnerving. All you want for your child is to help them and protect them. How can you protect them from something you cant control? I feel like Ive let him down, but theres nothing I can do.

 

– Joseph

About Joseph

18 year old dad raising a special needs 2 year old, while struggling with Dravet Syndrome.
This entry was posted in developmental delay, epilepsy, family, hospital, kids, parenting, toddler and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Admitted to the EMU

  1. You can’t blame yourself. I just keep saying ‘Oh my G-d,’ as I read your post. So scary.

  2. Be confident in knowing all you can do is love him and, aside from the medical routines, that your love is the very best gift you can give him. The heart of the soul always trumps neurological and other biological challenges. Your love is what he will know in the depths of his being, whether he can communicate that or not. Blessings to you…

  3. Thank you for sharing your story. I am the mother of a toddler who was born with health issues and we too have spent alot of time in hospitals having tests, MRI”s, needles and all the rest of it. I feel your worries and love for your son. Thanks again for sharing

Leave a Reply

