Disneyland and California Adventure! Lost and Accomplished.

We have successfully completed our first trip to a large crowded area! Disney! I’ve been planning a trip with Lucas to Disneyland or Colorado for a while now, and last week Lucas saw me on the Disney website and got oh so excited. So, we packed our bags, and drove up to Anaheim. I don’t know why, as I’ve lived in California almost my whole life, but for some reason I thought that Anaheim was about 4-5 hours away from where we live. Its not. Thank god I punched it into my phone before I packed up Lucas. It was 42 minutes away. So you know what I did? I went back to sleep. Alarm goes off at 6:45am, I pick up a sleeping Lucas from his bed, and set a still sleeping Lucas into his car seat.

Day 1:

Lucas is a soft sleeper. Meaning that the tiniest noise will wake him up. When I picked him up.. nothing. No mumbling, no twitching, no moving fingers, nothing. Frankly, I was surprised. Around 7:20am Lucas starts moving around and the first thing he does is say, “where my breebree?” (Breebree is what we call breakfast since getting Lucas to say breakfast is just as hard as tying a bonnet to a pig) Lucas’s eyes weren’t even open yet and he wants breakfast! So we stopped at McDonalds and got breakfast for him. When we get to the Disneyland Hotel, we find that we can’t get our room until 3pm. That’s okay. We still checked in, we parked the car, unpacked a stroller, and our Disney bag, changed Lucas’s diaper, put on his clothes, (Sorry, no footie pajamas allowed today mister) and headed off to the tram! We got into California Adventure at 8:20am, and our first ride was….

Toy Story Mania!

It was loads of fun. Not just the ride, but seeing Lucas so thrilled and excited and smiling so much, it just made this decision worth every cent. We also did Luigi’s Flying Tires, Mater’s Junkyard Jamboree, Go Coaster, Heimlich’s Chew Chew Train, Ladybug Boogie, Monsters Inc.,Princess Dot Puddle Park, Redwood Creek Challenge Trail, and Disney Junior Live on Stage. We also did lunch at Taste Pilot’s Grill in Golden State which has quite good food. Lucas enjoyed his burger and was wearing it by the time we finished.

After lunch is when we did Princess Dot Puddle Park. It was so cutee. Lucas loves the water and seeing him run through the water was precious. He was soaked, cooled off, and just picking him up
made my clothes soaking wet as well. After we changed we did Redwood Creek Challenge Trail. Wow. BIG thumbs up. That place is amazing. Lucas, and even I, had so much fun.

We left after that. Only seven hours to do everything in California Adventure that Lucas wanted to do, and what I made him do. We had a total of 4 major meltdowns due to height, 1 minor meltdown because he wanted to continue napping, and a little sunburn. We went back to the hotel and we cooled off in the room and played with somebody’s new Mickey toys we got in the gift shop and some other toys we got at the park. Then we watched Mickey’s Clubhouse, and went swimming, and went to bed!

Day 2:

Im furious. I don’t know where we were, or where it went, but I lost our camera. A camera, that let me say, had about 300 pictures. I think that Lucas may have been holding it and set it down on a bench but I have no idea where or when. So, no more pictures from our very first trip. Guess when I realized it was gone? When I was about to upload them to my facebook. At around 12am. Fantastic.

Also..

I lost Lucas. Around 6pm.
I knew it would happen. I just had that feeling in my mind that something bad would happen. Luckily, I had my number written on his arm in sharpie, and in his back zipper pocket I had my cell, my brother’s cell, his name, and a fun fact about him. He was also wearing a medical bracelet for his epilepsy which had his doctor’s number on it as well. I told him if he was lost to find a Disney Cast Member. I also told him to meet me in this spot in front of Carthay’s which I doubt he knew how to get to, I mean he’s 2. And its not that the staff were not helping, its that nobody could find him. All the staff was on the lookout (as much as they could) and I wrote down what he was wearing so they had a good description too. He’s just a wanderer. He gets curious, he walks, he gets bored, he walks, he may be in one spot one minute, and they next minute he’s a mile away. They told me to go to Lost Children, but he wasn’t there and 2 hours later security brought him down to Lost Children. I don’t know what I would have done if Lucas wasn’t found. I can’t and won’t even begin to say what I would do. I was so irate with myself. Let me say again, it took 2 hours to find him. The average return time is 20 minutes.

But I lost him at Chip n Dale’s Treehouse and I was going up with Lucas when one of the workers said I wasn’t allowed to go up, so I was about to grab Lucas so he didn’t continue up but when I went to do that, he wasn’t there. So naturally I freak out and run up the treehouse anyways.

Besides those main things, Disneyland Park was wondrous. The lines weren’t crazy, and I loved meeting Mickey and so did Lucas. We had 7 meltdowns which were followed by hundreds of dirty looks. These meltdowns were 1) Goofy– Lucas hates him 2) In line at the Haunted Mansion. Lucas wanted to do it, I approved, we were in line, Luka freaked out. 3) Lucas refused to leave his stroller. 4) Lucas got squirted with a water gun by some kid. 5) Lucas hated Pinnochio and was scared to death. 6) Lucas was pushed by another kid and got angry. & 7) Too short for Splash Mountain.

Then when I woke him up for character dining at the PCH Grill this morning (before all the incidents), he was cranky, crabby, angry, he was fighting me every step of the way, throwing and kicking and screaming. That was when I just knew that today was not going to be good, and something will go wrong. He was fantastic at breakfast though. Happy, energetic, and all that. We saw Mickey, Minnie, Pluto, Donald, Daisy, and Stitch, and Lucas had a blast dancing with Stitch. Stitch picked him up and Lucas though it was incredible. I think we have a new favorite.

Overall, I think it is definately possible to do 2 days at Disneyland with a toddler. If you’re willing to give up some of your own favorite rides in order to do Dumbo, Winnie the Pooh, and Luigi’s, then I say go for it!

Just don’t lose the camera.. or your kid!

– Joseph

About Joseph

18 year old dad raising a special needs 2 year old, while struggling with Dravet Syndrome.
This entry was posted in disney, kids, toddler, travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

